Everything tastes better here…

18 Jun

I first heard this statement from my mother-in-law last year on a canal trip in England.  She swore food tasted better in Europe, mainly produce.  I didn’t pay much attention at the time, I was pregnant and ate nearly everything in sight anyways, not really caring how it tasted.

Now in Paris, we have really noticed that this is true (except for meat, but we have high hopes for the butcher on Rue Cler).  D bought a melon from a market stand and it was like eating candy – I don’t think it was better than chocolate for him, but it ranked right up there.  I have really noticed the butter.  I’m not sure if it’s what the cows eat or how it is made but it’s amazing, it tastes like butter should taste – rich, creamy, lightly salted, perfect alone on a fresh baguette.

Even McDonald’s must taste better here – they have French macarons on the menu!  We have only eaten out once since our arrival and McDo’s is not on the list of must-haves but judging by the number of people eating it on the street, it has to be good…

One Response to “Everything tastes better here…”

  1. Kristie June 24, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    I agree whole heartedly!!! (Keep in mind that I gained 20 lbs during my year in Paris). Hugs to the three of you.

Leave a Reply

