Lesson #3: Cake aux Fruits + Madeleines

21 Jun

That’s right – we were trusted to create TWO items today!  I must say, it was quite the undertaking. It is so much more difficult to multitask with two new recipes in an unfamiliar kitchen with 9 other people all trying to do the same things.  We made a butter pound cake with candied fruit and madeleines, a cake-like tea cookie.  The results were ‘magnifique’ according to chef, but I can’t say they were my favourite thus far…AK seemed to like the madeleines but really, I think she’d eat anything sweet!

It was a very interesting demonstration though – the chef had some different ideas on how to create cake dough that I thought were big no-no’s.  I assumed going into the practical kitchen today, it would be a breeze but that was certainly not the case.

And for tomorrow I offer only a teaser = chantilly cream is only part of this classic patisserie delight.

3 Responses to “Lesson #3: Cake aux Fruits + Madeleines”

  1. sherry June 22, 2010 at 3:34 am #

    Chantilly cream? Eclairs? I love eclairs. and Kouing-aman! Learn to make kouing-aman. And bring home lots of french butter to make them with. Higher fat content. I get very hungry reading this journal.

  2. matt June 22, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

    I’m up for trying the Madeleines when you get back.

    • dabcan June 23, 2010 at 5:35 am #

      really? They just don’t “do it” for me. Kinda just plain cake, nothing like a chausson au pommes or even better, a “religieuse”…

Leave a Reply

