Lesson #18: Buche de pistache et chocolat

12 Aug

The most important lesson learned here – do not try to multitask while washing the sharpest serrated knife known to man.  I nearly lost my thumb…well, that’s an exaggeration but I did do a number on it.  After the chef in demo mentioned many time how sharp our ‘bread’ knives were and I laughed at a classmate who nipped her finger while slicing her cake, I still managed to drop the knife in the sink (which took a detour via my thumb knuckle) while cleaning up.   And of course the first thing that comes to mind was that I could not go to the hospital for stitches because I couldn’t finish the cake!  Luckily the wound was not that bad, close, but not that bad.

Oh right, the cake…the buche consisted of thin layers of nearly neon green pistachio sponge with a large dose of dark chocolate ganache and another glaze of liquid heaven to create a smooth finish.  I did enjoy that we used a long narrow loaf pan rather than the jelly roll method I remember my mom using, what a pain.  This was easy – bake, demold, slice and back in the mold with thick layers of ganache piped in between.  The trick was getting it onto the gleeming gold cardboard for presentation without breaking – I was one of the lucky ones…

4 Responses to “Lesson #18: Buche de pistache et chocolat”

  1. Karin August 13, 2010 at 3:34 am #

    yummy!

  2. Karin August 13, 2010 at 3:35 am #

    yummy! did it taste as good as it looks?

  3. Sarah August 13, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    For some reason this reminds me of the cupcakes we had in NYC. Looks delish!

  4. Auntie Patti August 14, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    Looks beautiful Carrie!

Leave a Reply

