Lesson #19: Alhambra

15 Aug

And the final dessert is…Alhambra, a chocolate overload cake.  It really is just chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate on top, which D didn’t seem to mind at all.  As far as technique goes, the cake itself was not all that difficult – the problem was even glazing and getting it from the rack onto that shiny card without smudging, smearing, cracking, etc, etc.

Sadly, the chef snagged a slice while I wasn’t looking so I didn’t get a proper photo.  And my marizipan leaves were too big…I guess you can’t win ’em all.

This week brings my final practical exam.  We were given 10 recipes to know off by heart, we draw one of those recipes on the day of the exam and must get to work in the kitchen.  It all seems very stressful, I can’t say that I’m looking forward to it.  What I am looking forward to is the next semester – ice cream, chocolates and caramel, oh my!

It’s pouring rain here today.  I think it’s the first time in over 2 months that we have been officially bored.  What does one do in Paris on a rainy, dreary Sunday?

3 Responses to “Lesson #19: Alhambra”

  1. Tricia August 15, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    Good luck with the practical exam.

  2. Karin August 15, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    I want to taste the Alhambra. I’m wondering if the Chef is fat with all the tating he does? Bonne chance with the practical.

  3. Kat August 16, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    I’m enjoying following your culinary adventures – good luck for the exam…
    Great pictures of the palaces. And as for what to do on a rainy Sunday in Paris we were equally at a loss. We stopped by Printemps today and it seemed every tourist had attempted to escape the rain by going shopping.

Leave a Reply

