Wino Wednesday – Chateau Romefort

17 Nov

Well if C can do one with her scarf, I’ll use my bowtie…  This week’s wine is courtesy of O + G, whom after trying some dreaded what I might write about it.  I have to say that the review below is an honest one, and not influenced by my parents fear….

Wine: Chateau Romefort

Where’d we buy it:  Carrefour, I think, but I wasn’t there so they could have got it just about anywhere…

How much did it cost: $3.64, more than I’m accustomed to paying, but still within the $5 limit.

Why did we pick it: O+G bought it, and I have no idea what their criteria is.  It certainly doesn’t go by our standard cool label/embossed bottle/won an award selection criteria.

Was it good:  To be brief, no.  To be un-brief, the burn it left on my throat could only be replicated by the finest variety of draino…  It had a very alcoholish taste reminiscent of rubbing alcohol, which could be related to the burning sensation…  Definitely one to avoid, and proof that you don’t always get what you pay for.

 

Leave a Reply

