Wino Wednesday – Vin de Pays de l’Herault

9 Nov

So I walk into the grocery store, 3 euros in my pocket, time to pick a wine.  The thing is I had other groceries to buy as well, so I checked out the lower shelves (in France, wine generally gets cheaper the lower the shelf, at least at the grocery stores).  I found Vin de Pays de l’Herault practically at floor level, just my kind of wine.

What made me pick it? Mainly the $1.60 price tag, also the fact that it advertises being “easy to open”, which means it doesn’t have a cork or a screw top, simply a piece of plastic that anyone with a thumb can pop it open.  Now with all I’ve had to say so far, you’re likely thinking I don’t have much positive to say about this wine, but in all honesty, it was awfully good, especially for $1.60.  It’s not going to win any awards (I don’t think they have categories for wine this cheap), but it was a nice wine and it went well with chocolate chip cookies, or at least way better than the spicy fajitas we had for dinner.  On another note, we need to stop eating mexican on Wednesdays, just not fair to the wine…

Leave a Reply

