Graduation Day…

13 Nov

It has come and gone.  I can officially say I’m a pastry chef.  Although, I think with more experience, I will earn that title…just a diploma doesn’t quite cut it in the food industry.

And just when I thought I figured out the French, they fooled me again.  The invite said 2pm…I took that as 2:30pm, at the very earliest.  We arrived at 2:25pm and missed at least 15 minutes of the ceremony. Oops!

It was long and AK (and D) barely survived.  The promise of treats afterwards helped a little bit.  Diplomas, medals and toques were handed out to 61 students in both cuisine and pastry.    At the bitter end, they announced the top 5…I had a feeling I may be a lucky recipient but one never knows.  All I wanted was to be ahead of one particular person and as I expected (D as well), I was second, behind said person…when you see me next, ask me about him…I won’t complain on the blog.  So the top 5 was bittersweet – I was thrilled to place but not so excited to be behind ‘him’.  Oh well, I must move on.

To add insult to injury, the food was pretty bad making my promise of ‘treats’ seem like a terrible lie.  Finger sandwiches and crudites – AK actually gagged on some salmon mousse (the food really wasn’t quite that bad, she just thought the swirl of mousse on the blini was buttercream!).  Eventually dessert came out with mixed reviews.  At least there was limitless champagne and AK made a friend…

Am I happy to be done – mais oui!  Will I miss school – bien sûr !  I never thought I would enjoy school that much and I will be wishing for the days back in the Cordon Bleu kitchens once we return to the ‘real world’.  Until then, I still have Pouchkine

4 Responses to “Graduation Day…”

  1. Judy G November 13, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Congratulations Butter Queen!
    This family adventure is an inspiration.
    Happy travels home.

  2. Patti Rodger November 13, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    Congratulations Carrie – I am so proud of you. It truly was a dream come true for you!

  3. Kristie Schneider November 13, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Toutes mes chaleureuses félicitations ma belle!

  4. Kate Daniel November 16, 2011 at 4:53 am #

    Hey Carrie – congrats!!! And #2 at that! It must be such a great feeling of accomplishment. I’m glad you’re all doing well over there – Heidi said she had a great visit with you. 🙂 And “hi” from everyone else in office too.

Leave a Reply

