Wino Wednesday – Veuve Clicquot

4 Jan

No, we didn’t splurge on a bottle of expensive French champagne (unfortunately) but I did snag a flute of Veuve Clicquot at work today.  Sadly, it was not enjoyed during work but rather at the end of the day as part of a little toast to a successful holiday season at Pouchkine.  Maybe it was the fact that I had eaten nothing since 5:30am and hadn’t sat down since then either, but it tasted pretty darn good and I was tempted by a second except that I had not eaten or sat down since 5:30am!  I might not have made it home.  Would I recommend?  Of course.  Is it a splurge?  Oh yes.  Worth the big bucks?  Probably not.  My tastes are just not refined enough to know the difference between the Veuve and the 4 euro bottle on New Year’s (which for us was a splurge!).  Given the chance to sip these bubbles again for free, however, I would happy accept.

Instead for dinner, we had Kriek

Leave a Reply

